Young penalized for not moving back marker

PITTSFORD, N.Y. – Cameron Young was moving in the best route early Friday on the PGA Championship. He was 2 beneath for the day and a couple of over for the event, which was two pictures contained in the projected reduce, when a routine mark led to a serious mistake.

Young, who started his second spherical on No. 10, hit his lag putt on the par-4 16th gap to 2 toes earlier than marking his ball. Tommy Fleetwood, who was grouped with Young, requested Young to comment his ball out of his line. The issue occurred when Young failed to maneuver his mark back to its authentic place earlier than placing out for what he thought was a par.

About two hours later, Young was knowledgeable by officers he was being assessed a two-shot penalty for taking part in his golf ball from the unsuitable place, a violation of Rule 15.3. The penalty turned his rating at No. 16 to double bogey and he added one other double bogey at No. 6 on his method to a 75 and a 9-over whole. The reduce is at the moment 5 over.

Young declined an interview request.

“I really feel partly accountable as a result of I used to be the one who requested him to maneuver his marker and also you’re in your individual world generally, you’d at all times say ‘transfer it back,’” mentioned Fleetwood, who doesn’t recall ever being in a gaggle with an identical violation. “It’s simply a kind of crappy issues.”

You might also like